‘Two records in, Julia Jacklin has found a new confidence in her own instincts’ – Q Magazine

‘With these elegantly devastating songs, Julia carves out a space, and a class, all of her own’– MOJO 8/10

‘Crushing is a dark exploration of the desolation following a breakup, but the bitter medicine is sweetened by Jacklin’s voice and the occasional garage rush’ – Uncut 8/10

‘[‘Body’] A maudlin song about your shitty boyfriend being arrested on a plane for smoking in the toilets. What’s not to love?’ – The FADER

Following the critically acclaimed cuts ‘Body’ and ‘Head Alone’, Julia Jacklin now shares ‘Pressure To Party’ – the new single from her forthcoming album Crushing out next month through Liberation Records.

Premiered last night on triple j Good Nights, the full-tilt and harmony-spiked track finds Julia pushing for emotional freedom. “When you come out of a relationship, there’s so much pressure to act a certain way. First it’s like, ‘oh, you’ve gotta take some time for yourself…’ but then if you take too much time it’s, ‘you’ve gotta get back out there!’ This song is just my three-minute scream, saying I’m going to do what I need to do, when I need to do it.” – Julia Jacklin

The music video (directed by Julia and long-time visual collaborator Nick Mckk) was filmed in a familiar location and features Julia and her siblings, plus a guest appearance from Body Type. “I went back to the house we shot my first music video ‘Pool Party’ in, as it felt like a good visual book end for the last 3 years. We shot the video in one take. It took a few practice runs but we managed to get it done in about 4 hours. We all swam in the pool after. It was a really special day. I managed to get all of my siblings in the clip, and we hadn’t all been in the same room together for over 4 years. I also got one of my favourite bands ‘Body Type’ to wear all my old music video outfits and pretend to be my band.”

Watch ‘Pressure To Party’

Produced by Burke Reid (Courtney Barnett, Liam Finn) and recorded at The Grove Studios in NSW, Julia’s second full-length Crushing embodies every possible meaning of its title word. It’s an album formed from sheer intensity of feeling, and an in-the-moment narrative of heartbreak and infatuation. With her storytelling centred on bodies and crossed boundaries and smothering closeness, Crushing reveals how our physical experience of the world shapes and sometimes distorts our inner lives.

Presented by Frontier Touring and triple j, the AUS Crushing Tour will see the Blue Mountains artist play some of her biggest rooms to date, visiting metro and regional cities throughout Feb / March. She’ll be joined by Olympia – who has recently released the follow up single to her LP Self Talk, which was awarded the Australian Music Prize. Following the Australian leg, Julia will head overseas for a massive run of shows across the UK, Europe, the US and Canada.

‘Body’ and ‘Head Alone’ are receiving widespread love from fans, media and radio alike. The latter is currently on rotation at triple j and FBi, and this week it was announced that ‘Body’ is up for Song of the Year at the 2019 FBi SMAC Awards.

‘Two records in, Julia Jacklin has found a new confidence in her own instincts’ – Q Magazine

‘With these elegantly devastating songs, Julia carves out a space, and a class, all of her own’– MOJO 8/10

‘Crushing is a dark exploration of the desolation following a breakup, but the bitter medicine is sweetened by Jacklin’s voice and the occasional garage rush’ – Uncut 8/10

‘[‘Body’] A maudlin song about your shitty boyfriend being arrested on a plane for smoking in the toilets. What’s not to love?’ – The FADER

Crushing follows Julia Jacklin’s debut album Don’t Let The Kids Win, which achieved stunning acclaim across the globe, and saw Julia awarded ‘Next Big Thing’ at the FBi SMACs and Best Independent Blues and Roots album at the AIR Awards. The album was also nominated for two ARIA Awards and the J Award for Album of the Year in 2017.

Crushing will be released February 22nd on limited edition green vinyl, CD and digital and is available to pre-order here.

Australia / New Zealand Crushing Tour Dates

Thu 21 Feb Perth Festival | Perth, WA

with special guest Julien Baker

Tickets: www.perthfestival.com.au

Wed 27 Feb Blue Smoke | Christchurch, NZ 18+

with special guest Merk

Tickets: www.livenation.co.nz

Thu 28 Feb The Cook | Dunedin, NZ 18+

with special guest Merk

Tickets: www.livenation.co.nz

Fri 1 Mar Hollywood Cinema | Auckland, NZ 18+

with special guest Merk

Tickets: www.livenation.co.nz

Sat 2 Mar San Fran | Wellington, NZ 18+

with special guest Merk

Tickets: www.livenation.co.nz

Tue 5 Mar UOW Unibar | Wollongong, NSW 18+

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton  

Tickets: www.moshtix.com.au

Wed 6 Mar ANU | Canberra, ACT           18+

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton  

Tickets: www.moshtix.com.au

Sat 9 Mar    The Triffid | Brisbane, QLD        18+

with special guests Olympia & Asha Jefferies

Tickets: www.oztix.com.au

Sun 10 Mar WOMADelaide | Adelaide, SA

Tickets: www.womadelaide.com.au

Tue 12 Mar Spiegeltent | Hobart, TAS 18+

Tickets: www.spiegeltenthobart.com

Thu 14 Mar The Forum | Melbourne, VIC 18+

with special guests Olympia & Robert Muinos

Tickets: www.ticketmaster.com.au

Fri 15 Mar Metro Theatre | Sydney, NSW 18+

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton

Tickets: www.ticketek.com.au

Sat 16 Mar Cambridge Hotel | Newcastle, NSW   18+

with special guests Olympia & Annie Hamilton

Tickets: www.ticketbooth.com.au

International Tour Dates

Tue 26 Mar        Haunt, Brighton, UK
Wed 27 Mar      Fleece, Bristol, UK
Thu 28 Mar      Castle & Falcon, Birmingham, UK
Fri 29 Mar          Yes, Manchester, UK
Sat 30 Mar        Whelans, Dublin, Ireland
Tue 2 Apr          Stereo, Glasgow, UK
Wed 3 Apr        Belgrave Music Hall, Leeds, UK
Thu 4 Apr          Electric Brixton, London, UK
Fri 5 Apr            Les Etoiles, Paris, France
Mon 8 Apr        AB Club, Brussels, Belgium
Tue 9 Apr          Paradiso-Noord, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Wed 10 Apr      Blue Shell, Cologne, Germany
Thu 11 Apr        Molotow Sky Bar, Hamburg, Germany
Fri 12 Apr          Vega, Copenhagen, Denmark
Mon 15 Apr      Privatclub, Berlin, Germany
Tue 16 Apr        Milla, Munich, Germany
Wed 17 Apr      Bogen F, Zurich
Wed 24 Apr      Bowery Ballroom, New York NY
Thu 25 Apr        Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia PA
Fri 26 Apr          Great Scott, Boston MA
Sat 27 Apr        Bar le Ritz, Montreal QC
Sun 28 Apr        Horseshoe Tavern, Toronto ON
Tue 30 Apr        DC9, Washington DC
Wed 1 May      Strange Matter, Richmond VA
Thu 2 May        Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro NC  
Mon 6 May        Third Man, Nashville TN
Wed 8 May        Schubas, Chicago IL
Thu 9 May        7th Street Entry, Minneapolis MN
Fri 10 May        Reverb, Omaha NE  
Sat 11 May        Recordbar, Kansas City MO
Mon 13 May     Larimer Lounge, Denver CO  
Tue 14 May        Urban Lounge, Salt Lake City UT
Fri 17 May          Fox Cabaret, Vancouver BC
Sat 18 May        Tractor Tavern, Seattle WA Juli
Sun 19 May        Mississippi Studios, Portland OR
Tue 21 May      Swedish American Music Hall, San Francisco CA
Thu 23 May        Teragram, Los Angeles CA
Mon 3 Jun        Club Dada, Dallas TX
Tue 4 Jun          Barracuda (Inside), Austin TX
Wed 5 Jun        White Oak Music Hall (Upstairs), Houston TX
Thu 6 Jun          Gasa Gasa, New Orleans LA

CRUSHING IS OUT 22 FEB THROUGH LIBERATION RECORDS

juliajacklin.com | facebook.com/juliajacklin
Twitter @juliajacklin | Instagram @juliajacklin
Youtube | Spotify

liberationrecords.com.au