I’ve been given a pile of books to leave in a street library. Before I follow orders I’m reading the ones that interest me, this is one of them. But I’m sure you figured that out, else why would I be scribbling words about it?

It’s Young Adult and in the vein that many of that age like to read. Funnily enough I like to read them too. Some Young Adult books have the best writing and this is no exception. It’s gritty, it doesn’t pull many punches and the writing is really good. As it says on the front cover of my copy it’s for fans of The Hunger Games, I totally agree with that.

The story shows us that teenage boys are delivered to The Glade with only one memory, their name. They have nothing else, no idea of who they are, their parentage or what skills they have. They find out what they’re good at by working at each job until one works for them. We follow Thomas through all of this until he figures out what seems to be really happening.

I was engaged most of the way through this book. I say ‘most’ but I can’t remember which bit didn’t engage me and I didn’t make a note of it. What I did make a note of is how Thomas normalises the idea of boys crying, I thought that was a good normality to show. It’s all very good to be strong and not show emotion, but it’s entirely possible to bottle up the emotion until you break. Much better to let it go at appropriate times.

I’m in awe of writers who can take a brand new idea like this and make it work. To graphically show readers a world they’ve created and make us believe we’re there is something I’d love to be able to do.

I’m looking forward to reading the two sequels, partly to check my guesses but also because the writing is that good. I’m also going to track down the movie. Why didn’t I see it when it first came out in 2014 is beyond me, but at least there are movies of all three books. I will be watching all of them!

If you’ve not read it yet and these few words inspire you to read The Maze Runner, I’ve provided a handy dandy link so you can buy it for yourself. I choose the cheapest copy and it provides me a few cents.

The post The Maze Runner by James Dashner appeared first on Suz’s Space | Book Reviews | Editing | Proofreading.