collaboration and covid-19 recovery key priorities for new port phillip mayor
Louise Crawford, Mayor and Marcus Pearl Deputy, City of Port Phillip

Former Deputy Mayor Louise Crawford is Port Phillip’s new Mayor

Cr Crawford said she is looking forward to getting to know all her fellow Councillors as they
build the foundation of the new 2020-24 Council.

“While we as Councillors all come from different perspectives, we have a shared purpose
and that is to serve our community,” she said.

“To do that well will require us to work collectively and creatively to respond to their needs.

“Continuing to support those hardest hit by the COVID-19 pandemic, including traders,
members of the arts community and the most vulnerable members of our City is crucial as
restrictions ease and we move towards the much hoped-for recovery phase.

“If we all put our community first as we work together, I know this Council will be able to
deliver good outcomes for the City of Port Phillip and keep it creative, inclusive, supportive,
sustainable and beautiful as we deal with the really big challenges ahead.”

In a personal vow to her community, Cr Crawford promised to listen, take on board
people’s views and do it all with kindness “which is desperately needed right now in the

Cr Marcus Pearl pledged to support Cr Crawford as a loyal, open and honest deputy when
named Deputy Mayor.

Both Councillors were elected to serve in these roles for 12 months. Cr Crawford was
Deputy Mayor in 2018 in the previous Council.

Five incumbents and four first-time Councillors were sworn in last night after being elected
to a four-year term earlier this month:

Canal Ward: Louise Crawford, Rhonda Clark, Tim Baxter
Gateway Ward: Marcus Pearl, Heather Cunsolo, Peter Martin
Lake Ward: Katherine Copsey, Andrew Bond, Christina Sirakoff.