Bowness Photography Prize | Entries open


Entries open today

Entries close 5pm Wednesday 10 July 2019

The Bowness Photography Prize has become an important survey of contemporary photographic practice and one of the most prestigious prizes in the country, providing Australian artists with the opportunity to exhibit at one of Australia’s leading public galleries. Since 2017 the prize has been acquisitive and the $30,000 cash prize awarded to the winner ensures that it continues to provide a significant boost to an artist’s career. The Sotheby’s Australia People’s Choice Award has been doubled this year from $2,500 to $5,000.

Entries open
29 May – 10 July 2019

Finalists announced
9 August 2019

Exhibition dates
5 October – 17 November 2019

Award announcement
10 October 2019

Enter the Bowness Photography Prize

All entrants will need to register by creating a new account via the online portal. If you have any questions or issues with your entry please email

Register here


History of the prize

In 2005 the MGA Foundation was established with the aim of supporting MGA and its significant collection. At the time the Board and the newly constituted Foundation recognised the importance of providing a platform for contemporary Australian photographers to showcase their work, which would simultaneously raise the profile of MGA and its unique commitment to photographic art. The following year the MGA Foundation launched the inaugural William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize to promote excellence in photography across all photographic media and stylistic genres by both established and emerging artists with work produced within the last year.

Visit our website to learn more Follow Link

Meet the judges

Each year a panel of three judges consider all the entries and curates an exhibition of finalists before settling upon a single winner. The 2019 judging panel includes MGA Director Anouska Phizacklea, Director of the Queensland Art Gallery | Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) Chris Saines and acclaimed artist Dr Christian Thompson AO.